Background Image

The environment

Het Godshuis, Sint-Laureins

Het Godshuis, Sint-Laureins

Monument

This immense building was erected in 1843 by Miss Antonia Van Damme of Sint-Laureins, who used her fortune to build a hospice for elders, a home for orphans and a hospital for the sick. Its purpose was to provide a home for orphans, the elderly, the sick and the disabled. During the Second World War, the building served as a shelter for the villagers, refugees and civilian military. The Almshouse survived both world wars, but by the end of the 19th century the building had completely fallen into ruin. In the meantime it has been partly restored.

Onze-Lieve-Vrouwkerk, Watervliet

Onze-Lieve-Vrouwkerk, Watervliet

Monument

This church was founded by Jeronimus Lauwerijn of Bruges. The church was built between 1501 and 1540. It is popularly called the "Cathedral of the North". There is a lot to discover in the church: the high vaults, colonnades and pointed arch windows, through the majestic high altar in black and white marble by Fayd'herbe with a large reredos by De Crayer, .. Further in the church your attention is drawn by the impressive portal and the rood loft with a historic organ of Ledon. In the church there is also a large collection of paintings from the 16th and 17th centuries. The church is located on the village square of Watervliet and is listed as a protected monument. In 2008, this village was voted one of the fifteen most beautiful villages in Flanders.

Eekloose watercourse, house "het Rabot" and the border marker

Eekloose watercourse, house "het Rabot" and the border marker

Monument

This watercourse is one of the waterways that were dug in the 13th century for peat transport. Originally it ran from Eeklo via Sint-Laureins to the Sint-Kruis and Aardenburg in the Netherlands. Today we only see a part of the watercourse. He is now interrupted by the Leopold Canal. Where there is now boundary marker 341 and the more recent correction post, there used to be a floodgate or rabot. When the Dutch colonel Ledel had to determine the border, he regarded it as a Belgian territory. This explains the straight border with the Netherlands at Sint-Laureins.

Sint-Jan-de-Doperkerk en Palingdorp Sint-Jan-in-Eremo

Sint-Jan-de-Doperkerk en Palingdorp Sint-Jan-in-Eremo

Monument

This picturesque and somewhat lonely single-aisled Sint-Jan-de-Doperkerk has been a protected monument since 1975. The style of the church is rococo and was renovated in 1984. Saint-Jan-Eremo used to be one of the most visited pilgrimage sites in the Meetjesland and was it is the tradition to sell sweet cherries on St. John's Day (June 24). This tradition is now continued by the owners of Hoeve Engelendael.

The Creeks area

The Creeks area

Nature

The Zonnebrug is only 200 meters from the Bentille Creek, where you can fish for pike, eel, perch, rudd, .... The Boerekreek, Meseurekreek, Blokkreek also offer opportunities for fishing. Our guesthouse is located in the middle of the creek area, which is unique in Belgium and the Netherlands. Sometimes the white border posts are the only witnesses to the national borders. The dikes that crisscross it have protected people and animals from the rising waters of the sea for centuries. During WWII the drainage roads of the area were broken by the German troops and in no time 1000 hectares were flooded again. The many bunkers in the landscape and the military cemeteries in the region bear witness to this. The cyclist or walker will discover the memorial sites for local fallen of the First and Second World War, especially at the many bridges over the canal.
Watch the movie of Het Meetjesland '1 day - 4 stories' that highlights some beautiful locations in the Meetjesland!

The Oudemankreek

The Oudemankreek

Nature

The Oudemankreek shines at the De Roste Muis café. The Roste Muis is a popular resting place for cyclists and walkers. There is a flat-bottomed boat in the beautiful Oudemanskreek. This catches eel on the creeks. There is still one flat-bottomed boat active on the Meetjesland creeks. Since 2008, the municipality, in collaboration with the Provincial Fisheries Commission and the polder authorities, has been releasing glass eels in the creeks every year. You can also go here for demonstrations of eel catching. You can also venture on the elongated fishing pier and enjoy the breathtaking view of the creek and the nearby picturesque church of Sint-Jan-In-Eremo.In the Oudemanskreek there is also a work of art by sculptor Chris Ferket: When the fox preaches the passion , farmer watches your geese. It is a subtle reference to Elmare, the monastery from the medieval novel "Van den Vos Reynaerde". This monastery is said to have stood somewhere in the polders and was swallowed up by the waxing sea.

The Oostpolderkreek

The Oostpolderkreek

Nature

At the Oostpolder Creek you'll find on the banks of the creek a quiet place where you can relax here during your cycling or walking. At the same time, you will learn more about eel in the creeks, fish migration and water management in this polder area. You can also visit this place with a guide. The sea is still tangibly present in the creek area. Many of the grasslands are saline and are home to a typical fauna with salt-tolerant plant species such as samphire. Thousands of white-fronted geese and little swans hibernate here. You can find beautiful walks or bike rides in this region at:
www.sint-laureins.be/toerisme
www.ronsers.be
www.npmeetjesland.be

The Coast and the North Sea

The Coast and the North Sea

Nature

The Zonnebrug is located a stone's throw from Zeeuws-Vlaanderen and is the perfect base for a trip to the Belgian or Dutch coast: Knokke (the Zwin), Cadzand, Groede, .... The Zonnebrug is located near Zeeland, in a region of canals and creeks.

Zeeuws-Vlaanderen

Zeeuws-Vlaanderen

Cities

Sluis, Oostburg, Aardenburg, Boekhoute and Waterlandkerkje are nearby and are well worth a visit. You can also take the ferry from Breskens to Vlissingen across the Western Scheldt to visit Middelburg and the Veerse Meer.

Brugge & Gent

Brugge & Gent

Cities

Our guesthouse is ideally located to visit the art cities of Bruges and Ghent. In half an hour you can go from the quiet and rural life to a total immersion in the culture of these art cities.

Relax in Sint-Laureins

Relax in Sint-Laureins

De Zonnebrug

Want to escape the daily hustle and bustle? The tranquility and splendor of Sint-Laureins will automatically slow you down. Want to spot a marsh harrier or a yellow mercury? Would you like to have a nice picnic along the water? To fish for eel? The Zonnebrug offers a range of possibilities in a relaxing nature! Discover the creeks!

Background Image

Situation & Les environs

Het Godshuis, Sint-Laureins

Het Godshuis, Sint-Laureins

Monument

Cet immense bâtiment a été érigé en 1843 par Mlle Antonia Van Damme de Sint-Laureins, qui a utilisé sa vaste fortune pour construire un hospice pour les aînés, une maison pour les orphelins et un hôpital pour les malades. Son objectif était de fournir un foyer aux orphelins, aux personnes âgées, aux malades et aux handicapés. Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le bâtiment a servi d'abri aux villageois, aux réfugiés et aux soldats civils. L'Hospice a survécu aux deux guerres mondiales, mais à la fin du 19e siècle, le bâtiment était complètement tombé en ruines. Il a maintenant été partiellement restauré.

Onze-Lieve-Vrouwkerk, Watervliet

Onze-Lieve-Vrouwkerk, Watervliet

Monument

Cette église a été fondée par Jeronimus Lauwerijn de Bruges. L'église a été construite entre 1501 et 1540. Elle est communément appelée la "cathédrale du nord". Dans l'église, il y a beaucoup à découvrir: les hautes voûtes, les colonnades et les fenêtres en ogive, à travers le majestueux maître-autel en marbre noir et blanc de Fayd'herbe avec un grand retable de De Crayer, .. Plus loin dans l'église, votre attention est attirée par le portail impressionnant et le jubé avec un orgue historique de Ledon. Dans l'église, il y a aussi une grande collection de peintures des XVIe et XVIIe siècles. L'église est située sur la place du village de Watervliet et est classée monument protégé. En 2008, ce village a été élu l'un des quinze plus beaux villages de Flandre.

Cours d'eau Eekloose, maison "het Rabot" et borne frontière

Cours d'eau Eekloose, maison "het Rabot" et borne frontière

Monument

Ce cours d'eau est l'un des cours d'eau creusés au XIIIe siècle pour le transport de la tourbe. À l'origine, il allait d'Eeklo via Sint-Laureins à Sint-Kruis et Aardenburg aux Pays-Bas. Aujourd'hui, nous ne voyons qu'une partie du cours d'eau. Il est maintenant interrompu par le canal Léopold. Là où il y a maintenant la borne 341 et le poste de correction le plus récent, il y avait autrefois une vanne ou un rabot. Lorsque le colonel néerlandais Ledel devait déterminer la frontière, il la considérait comme un territoire belge. Ceci explique la frontière droite avec les Pays-Bas à Sint-Laureins.

Sint-Jan-de-Doperkerk en Palingdorp Sint-Jan-in-Eremo

Sint-Jan-de-Doperkerk en Palingdorp Sint-Jan-in-Eremo

Monument

Cette église Saint-Jean-Baptiste, pittoresque et quelque peu solitaire, à nef unique, est un monument protégé depuis 1975. Le style de l'église est rococo et a été rénovée en 1984. Saint-Jean Eremo était l'un des sites de pèlerinage les plus visités du Meetjesland. c'est la tradition de vendre des cerises douces le jour de la Saint-Jean (24 juin). Cette tradition est maintenant perpétuée par les propriétaires de Hoeve Engelendael.

La région des calanques

La région des calanques

Nature

Le Zonnebrug est à seulement 200 mètres du ruisseau Bentille, où vous pourrez pêcher le brochet, l'anguille, la perche, le rudd, .... Le Boerekreek, Meseurekreek, Blokkreek offrent également des possibilités de pêche. Notre maison d'hôtes est située au milieu de la zone du ruisseau, ce qui est unique en Belgique et aux Pays-Bas. Parfois, les postes frontières blancs sont les seuls témoins des frontières nationales. Les digues qui le sillonnent ont protégé les hommes et les animaux de la montée des eaux de la mer pendant des siècles. Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les routes de drainage de la région ont été brisées par les troupes allemandes et en un rien de temps, 1000 acres étaient à nouveau sous l'eau. Les nombreux bunkers du paysage et les cimetières militaires de la région en témoignent. Le cycliste ou marcheur découvrira - notamment à la hauteur des nombreux ponts enjambant le canal - les lieux de mémoire des locaux tombés de la première et de la seconde guerre mondiale.
Regardez le film de Het Meetjesland '1 jour - 4 histoires' qui met en valeur de beaux endroits du Meetjesland!

Le Oudemankreek

Le Oudemankreek

Nature

L'Oudemankreek brille au café De Roste Muis. Le Roste Muis est un lieu de repos populaire pour les cyclistes et les marcheurs. Il y a un bateau à fond plat dans le magnifique Oudemanskreek. Cela attrape l'anguille sur les ruisseaux. Il y a encore un bateau à fond plat en activité sur les criques du Meetjesland. Depuis 2008, la municipalité, en collaboration avec la Commission provinciale des pêches et les autorités des polders, lâche chaque année des civelles dans les ruisseaux. Vous pouvez également vous rendre ici pour des démonstrations de capture d'anguilles. Vous pouvez également vous aventurer sur le quai de pêche allongé et profiter de la vue imprenable sur la crique et l'église pittoresque voisine de Sint-Jan-In-Eremo.Dans l'Oudemanskreek, il y a aussi une œuvre d'art du sculpteur Chris Ferket: Quand le renard prêche la passion , le fermier surveille vos oies. C'est une référence subtile à Elmare, le monastère du roman médiéval "Van den Vos Reynaerde". On dit que ce monastère s'est tenu quelque part dans les polders et a été englouti par la mer croissante.

Le Oostpolderkreek

Le Oostpolderkreek

Nature

À la hauteur de l'Oostpolderkreek, vous trouverez un lieu de repos sur les rives de la crique où vous pourrez vous détendre pendant votre balade à vélo ou à pied. En même temps, vous en apprendrez plus sur l'anguille dans les ruisseaux, la migration des poissons et la gestion de l'eau dans cette zone de polders. Vous pouvez également visiter cet endroit avec un guide. La mer est toujours présente de manière tangible dans la zone du ruisseau. De nombreuses prairies sont salines et abritent une faune typique avec des espèces végétales tolérantes au sel telles que le samphire. Des milliers d'oies rieuses et de petits cygnes hibernent ici. Vous pouvez trouver de belles balades à pied ou à vélo dans cette région à:
www.sint-laureins.be/toerisme
www.ronsers.be
www.npmeetjesland.be

<br />
La Côte et la Mer du Nord


La Côte et la Mer du Nord

Nature

Le Zonnebrug est situé à deux pas de Zeeuws-Vlaanderen et est le point de départ idéal pour un voyage sur la côte belge ou néerlandaise: Knokke (le Zwin), Cadzand, Groede, .... Le Zonnebrug est situé près de Zélande, dans une région de canaux et les ruisseaux.

Zeeuws-Vlaanderen

Zeeuws-Vlaanderen

Villes

Sluis, Oostburg, Aardenburg, Boekhoute et Waterlandkerkje sont à proximité et valent bien une visite. Vous pouvez également prendre le ferry de Breskens à Vlissingen à travers l'Escaut occidental pour visiter Middelburg et le Veerse Meer.

Brugge & Gent

Brugge & Gent

Villes

Notre maison d'hôtes est idéalement située pour visiter les villes d'art de Bruges et de Gand. En une demi-heure, vous pouvez passer de la vie tranquille et rurale à une immersion totale dans la culture de ces villes d'art.

Détendez-vous à Sint-Laureins

Détendez-vous à Sint-Laureins

De Zonnebrug

Vous voulez échapper à l'agitation quotidienne? La tranquillité et la splendeur de Sint-Laureins vous ralentiront automatiquement. Vous souhaitez faire un bon pique-nique au bord de l'eau? Pêcher l'anguille? Le Zonnebrug offre un éventail de possibilités dans une nature reposante! Découvrez les calanques!